Welcome to the forum, Guest

TOPIC: A PPA on Launchpad?

A PPA on Launchpad? 9 years 2 months ago #1024

Chocwise

Fresh Boarder

I'm no developer in any way, so I don't have too much insight in the processes of developing, compiling and distributing.
But wouldn't using Launchpad be a comfortable way for you to compile and distribute YACReader for various architectures?
I think the resulting .deb's should work for Debian as well as the various Ubuntu derivates, also counting Linux Mint.
And of course it would also be comfortable for users like myself to automatically get the newest updates. :)
Adding a PPA and installing packages from it is as easy as executing these commands:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:luisangel/yacreader
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install yacreader

launchpad.net/
help.launchpad.net/Packaging/PPA
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personal_Package_Archive
Last Edit: 9 years 2 months ago by Chocwise.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

A PPA on Launchpad? 9 years 2 months ago #1026

selmf

Developer

Thank you received: 135

Hi Chocwise,

deploying software on a Debian based platform is not a fun experience. Debian and it's derivates have a rather sophisticated packaging system and a lot of rules/practices you have to follow in order to get a proper package. We pursued inclusion into Debian a few months ago, but the project currently is on hiatus due to a pecularity of YACReader needing bits of sourcecode of another software (p7zip) to properly interface it's compression backend (p7zip). This is one of the reasons we do have .deb packages which work nicely for most people, but these aren't included in any distro I know of.
As most of the packaging work for Linux is done by me and I don't even run a .deb based distro compiling and shipping even these packages is always a bit complicated and time-consuming, which is one of the reasons the newest versions of YACReader are always deployed last for .deb based distros.